STCW Question

The other day in my Basic Safety Training class for my STCW requirement we did our pool work.

Apparently one requirement is to enter the water from a 1 meter platform and from a 3 meter platform.

Guess who has been trying to overcome a paralysing fear of heights/falls for a few years and now has 13 weeks to do it.

Can anyone show me where this requirement is laid out and can anyone tell me if there is hope of having the 3 meter drop waived?

I understand why it would be there (I think), I understand the techniques and the dangers. I also understand if it comes down to staying on a sinking/burning ship and getting my arse off, I’ll be getting off.

Thanks

You are going to have to get over your fear.

Damn. That’s far easier said than done.

Well, you don’t have to get over your fear. You just have to jump.

I’m no expert in paralyzing fears, but I would suggest discussing your issue with the instructor. Together you can come up with a plan that eases your concerns. Or at least makes it possible for you to complete the task. You only have to do it once…

Perhaps a solo pool session would help. Maybe you could bring a boombox and play music, or have someone up on the platform reassuring/distracting you…Or maybe they shouldn’t reassure you, maybe they should act as if the platform you’re on is a burning sinking ship…

Best of luck.

[quote=Sf_deckhand;18750]Well, you don’t have to get over your fear. You just have to jump.

I’m no expert in paralyzing fears, but I would suggest discussing your issue with the instructor. Together you can come up with a plan that eases your concerns. Or at least makes it possible for you to complete the task. You only have to do it once…

Perhaps a solo pool session would help. Maybe you could bring a boombox and play music, or have someone up on the platform reassuring/distracting you…Or maybe they shouldn’t reassure you, maybe they should act as if the platform you’re on is a burning sinking ship…