Schools for A/B to mate 500

Does anyone know of any schools to take classes to be able to go to 500 ton mate from a/b. I would like to do it all in one shot at one place. I’m not good at scheduling the classes for time off. Immersion in the subject is my best bet. Thanks

Try the school called “Google”.

Google is a good choice. It would help also if you posted what area the school needs to be in.

I’ve been wrong before also, but I don’t think you will go to any school to get your 500t Mate. You may find a prep school to help you with things on the test but I think you have to go to the REC to take the test on anything above 200t Master.

Doing it in one shot in one place is not a very viable option.
As it stands currently there are just a couple of classes required, and every one of them is offered on a regular and frequent basis at Galliano Training Center.
If you look at the USCG checklist for the license you want, you will see you need, among other things, these classes:
Advanced Firefighting, Medical Care Provider, Radar Observer Unlimited, Bridge Resource Management. Optionally, but good to have, will be ARPA, and GMDSS.

Have you spent much time in your wheelhouse doing lookout duties? Have you expressed your interest and desire for a mates license to the wheelhouse guys on your boat?

I can tell you that when I have a good AB doing watch with me, who displays potential, I encourage them. I let them, under supervision, evaluate targets and make the course and speed changes necessary to keep our passage safe. I have shown them the assessments they need to complete for OICNW, just so they see what skills and knowledge they should expect to possess in order to do the job.

Take a radar observer class, and see if there is a wheelhouse guy on your boat that will help mentor you. You are going to have to put in some work for this, " immerse" yourself in the subject every day you are on the boat.

Well said man

Don’t forget Flashing Lights…