Researching Cyber Security

Hello Everyone,
I am a cyber security researcher, and I am currently working on a project regarding threats to passenger ships. I have a ton of questions and am looking for the right resource. My background is in networking, and I currently work as a network pentester (offensively exploiting network vulnerabilities).
I have spent a decent amount of time researching the known or potential vulnerabilities but am struggling to identify their impact if successfully exploited.

Here are a couple of examples:
What could happen if an attacker manipulated the Load Computer and injected bad data for fuel systems, stability, and haul stress? Worst-case scenario or most likely scenario. How would you go about investigating that?

What happens when the ship loses satellite internet connection? What systems do you fall back on? Does this have any significant impact on operations?

(Cruise ship specific maybe) Does the fire suppression system unlock passenger cabin doors to allow firefighters into the rooms? I was thinking along the lines of a passenger purposefully setting off the fire alarm and tripping the sprinklers.

Like I said I have so many questions, and I am super grateful for anyone taking the time to answer. I think I’ll have more questions on an ongoing basis, so if anyone would like to swap knowledge, let me know. I am happy to answer technical or cyber security questions. Also, feel free to google my username, to check that I am on the up and up or dm me on Twitter.

If this interested you at all, there are a couple of videos online made by a pentester who has worked on ships https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKrrD0Ue7Kk

1 Like

I am not off passenger ships, but I can give you my 2 cents.