Renewal in July and upgrade after next hitch

I think these will be questions for Mr. Cavo…

I am a 3rd assistant engineer, steam and motor, unlimited and need to renew by July 11. I will have 360 days at sea soon and have been training and drilling on-board.

1. Do I need advanced fire fighting refresher 2-day class? My advanced fire fighting was completed on March 18, 2011.

2. Are they picky about exact dates?

3. When I upgrade to 2nd (motors) and Chief OSV I think I will need gap closing of MEECE, Engine Room Resource Management and Leadership and Management Skills, correct?

Thanks in advance.

1. You shouldn’t need to renew any STCW classes for renewal until 2017, though if you sail foreign I believe port state control is already asking to see training certs within 5 years. I’ve heard of the NMC requiring this already and they’re wrong, which screws mariners out of money taking classes they don’t need.

2. The STCW component of your license will not be valid past the end of 2016 without taking those classes. You should take them before you renew or your STCW license will say (not valid after…) so when you take the courses you will then have stickers in your almost new book (less than 6 months old) and they confuse the hell out of port state control officers.

[QUOTE=85TJ;177362]I think these will be questions for Mr. Cavo…

I am a 3rd assistant engineer, steam and motor, unlimited and need to renew by July 11. I will have 360 days at sea soon and have been training and drilling on-board.

1. Do I need advanced fire fighting refresher 2-day class? My advanced fire fighting was completed on March 18, 2011.

2. Are they picky about exact dates?

3. When I upgrade to 2nd (motors) and Chief OSV I think I will need gap closing of MEECE, Engine Room Resource Management and Leadership and Management Skills, correct?

Thanks in advance.[/QUOTE]