Recommended course of action for entering the industry?

Howdy all,

I’m sure this question is asked a million times, I apologize for another one of “those threads”. I’m in my mid 30s and in good health, I’m a former US Marine, currently a senior software developer. The monotony of civilian life is killing me. As per my DD214, I have over 1yr 2mo time at sea (None in the past 90 days).

While in the Marine Corps, I was a Military Analyst. After I got out, I worked on ROV’s for the Navy. Then I got into software development. I don’t have any vocational/professional certifications or licenses.

So for you guys who still have salt in your veins, how would you recommend I jump into the industry? My first assumption is to try and get in a security billet since I have experience dealing pirates/terrorists. I know their weapons, tactics and the countermeasures to enforce. I’m assuming another option is jumping into an average unlicensed position, swabbin’ the deck.

All thoughts and opinions are welcome. Thanks!

If I were you, I’d stay where I was, on the beach.

[QUOTE=LeatherNeck;53688]Howdy all,

I’m sure this question is asked a million times, I apologize for another one of “those threads”. I’m in my mid 30s and in good health, I’m a former US Marine, currently a senior software developer. The monotony of civilian life is killing me. As per my DD214, I have over 1yr 2mo time at sea (None in the past 90 days).

While in the Marine Corps, I was a Military Analyst. After I got out, I worked on ROV’s for the Navy. Then I got into software development. I don’t have any vocational/professional certifications or licenses.