Question for Mr Cavo

I have my 1600 ton Master oceans. I have disharges from 1987 from doing towing on the West Coast. Can I use that sea time to get my towing endorsement ? The company is out of business so if any kind of a letter is needed
I’m out of luck.

[QUOTE=bshaggnasty;158287]I have my 1600 ton Master oceans. I have disharges from 1987 from doing towing on the West Coast. Can I use that sea time to get my towing endorsement ? The company is out of business so if any kind of a letter is needed
I’m out of luck.[/QUOTE]

It’s probably going to be the same as if you didn’t have that time on tugs. The STCW 2010 rulemaking also re-opened grandfathering to towing licenses for service before 2001. However, you have to document 90 days service on tugs before 2001, and complete a TOAR. Completing the TOAR will require time on a towing vessel, at least 30 days if not more. Since you have a 1600 ton license, you can get the same thing by completing the TOAR and getting at least 30 days on a towing vessel. So it probably doesn’t matter that you have prew-2001 towing vessel time…

Thanks for taking the time to answer that.

Dear Mr. Cavo,

I have observed how helpful you have been in the forums here, so I am requesting guidance on Horsepower limitations (11.503)(c):

I have always sailed on vessels of 4000 hp or less, although I have had my Chief Limited Oceans for several years now. 6000 hp license, and I will now be sailing on a 5000 hp vessel, and I am looking to move to the unlimited side as I am ready to test for my 2nd. Would it be preferable to apply for removal of my horsepower limitations after I apply for my 2nd, or should I apply for the removal of horsepower limitations as I apply for the 2nd, or is there any difference.I have read through the CFRs several times with my shipmates, and this one seems to confound us.

Thanks in advance…

[QUOTE=Waverunner55;159458]Dear Mr. Cavo,