Question about career path, Tall Ships, Maritime Academies, and 3M License

Hello!

First, gCaptain is so awesome! the threads here generally seem to be pretty helpful compared to other forums I’ve been frequenting (USN related). I am a 37yo veteran and switching careers to maritime for a host of reasons I won’t go into. I will try and keep this question as directed and effective as I can.

Let’s say that I wanted to skipper tall ships and run a charter business later. What would be the better path to do that:

1. Start out as a deckhand on Tall ships now and get the sea time/ work my way up to Mate/Master over the course of years.

2. Go to an academy, get 3M license, work in commercial maritime for the pay and experience, THEN transition to Tall Ships

For background, I am applying for SUNY and TAMU for Fall of 2019. This means I am angling towards #2 for the flexibility and the pay starting out. HOWEVER, the problem with #2 is it is very expensive and would add another What… possibly +80k/100k (out of state tuition) To the debt I already have from my first degree.

Don’t get me wrong I don’t JUST want to skipper tall ships. Being on the deck of any commercial maritime vessel sounds appealing to me. But the cost of the schooling is very daunting. Any input/thoughts/advice is very much appreciated.

This is one industry where I can guarantee you, you’ll make it back. Definitely go to school, especially if you already have your ba.

My understanding is the academy that plugs you into the tall ship (or at least wooden boat) community is Maine. Can’t go wrong with the SUNY grad program though.

2 Likes

Go to kings point for free. You’ll piss excellence when you’re all graduamated. Also I wouldn’t waste your time at an academy to be a captain on a tall ship. All the chicks have hairy armpits and eveyone is a vegan. Just sayin.

3 Likes