Fastest way to 3rd mate license

I need a bit of help here. After two years I was academically dismissed from maine maritime (business major) I worked as a deckhand for two years on private and commercial vessels. I have a big chip on my shoulder am looking to go back to any maritime academy to go the deck route.

1. what maritime academies will accept my terrible gpa from that school?
  2. is it easy to transfer between maritime academies?
  3. I do plan on going to community college first. I can finish a degree in something else and go to grad school at SUNY. Or just go undergrad at mass maritime if they accept me. Have also looked at MITAGS.
    Need some solid advice and I’m only 22

I did option three… went to a normal 4-year college and then attended SUNY as a graduate student.

By then I had my head and ass wired together.

2 Likes

Sounds doable and yes I’m a lot more matured and humble since being in the industry. Any tips for being a strong candidate when applying to SUNY grad

Did you try to reopen communication with Maine Maritime?

1 Like

Eat some humble pie and go have an open and honest chat with the admissions director for any of the academies. A genuine face-to-face can go a long way to counter past history.

Courses from Maine I’d assume would mostly be transferable, but only if you scored a high enough grade. If you had C’s ad D’s, generally you can expect you’ll be taking those again.

1 Like

I don’t know much about martime education, but I do know something about admissions and academia. Reapply to the old school (if you want to) and explain to them that you’re not a butthead anymore. Do this with a letter or an essay. There’s a reasonable chance they’ll place you and put you on academic probation.