Pilotage question

Hello everyone,

After searching the internet and through these forums, I can’t seem to find information on this question, so I’m hoping that someone could help me out. I am at a point in my career where I am considering applying to a pilot association (and have been recommended to do so by an advanced ship handling instructor) The concern is that I can’t find any information on the stipend for apprentice pilots. I’m not concerned about how much I’ll make as a full pilot, I already know it will cover my needs; I just want to make sure I can continue to cover my bills and care for my wife while I’m an apprentice.

Thanks for the help.

[QUOTE=“dmitchellcsum;121387”]Hello everyone,

After searching the internet and through these forums, I can’t seem to find information on this question, so I’m hoping that someone could help me out. I am at a point in my career where I am considering applying to a pilot association (and have been recommended to do so by an advanced ship handling instructor) The concern is that I can’t find any information on the stipend for apprentice pilots. I’m not concerned about how much I’ll make as a full pilot, I already know it will cover my needs; I just want to make sure I can continue to cover my bills and care for my wife while I’m an apprentice.

Thanks for the help.[/QUOTE]

Pay for trainee State pilot in USA varies wildly from nothing to $100k plus, depending on the region. You need to check with the pilot association or State regulators in the regions where you will be applying.

[QUOTE=dmitchellcsum;121387]Hello everyone,

Thanks for the help.[/QUOTE]

getting an apprentice/deputy pilot job is generally very hard. and varies wildly from state to state. seriously, your ship handling instructor’s recommendation is worthless. you could be the greatest natural born harbor/river pilot, but if no one will hire you let alone talk to you, it matters not. that’s not to discourage you, that’s to enlighten you.