Path to Chief Engineer Limited Near Coastal

I have a question for anyone who might know the answer. I have worked many years as an unlicensed Engineer, and QMED Oiler. The vessel I work on has two Oilers and a Chief Engineer. I currently have a 3rd Asst. Unlimited/DDE Unlimited plus Any Unlicensed Rating in the Engine Dept. I am trying to get my Chief Engineer Limited Near Coastal however I am hung up on the requirement “One year of this service must have been as a licensed engineer.”. I have several years of experience as an unlicensed engineer while holding a DDE 4000 and some time holding my 3rd/DDE unlimited. Since there is no assistant engineer position for me to serve on this vessel how can I get my Chief’s? DDE won’t work because of tonnage… Must I find another job to gain the experience or is there some other way around this?

Thanks,

Justin

Just because your employer didn’t require a license doesn’t mean your time doesn’t count. Did you have a license? Were you the only engineer on the boat? Were you in charge of a watch? You are good to go. As long as your letter says “engineer” and it covers a time period where you held a license that is all you need. That same time is likely enough to upgrade to 2a/e also.

Justin…Check out the Marine Safety Manual vol III chapter 12. It’s the best guideline for your qualifying time.

Here’s the link http://www.uscg.mil/directives/cim/16000-16999/CIM_16000_8B.pdf

Injunear,

Thanks for the info, I have looked over the Marine Safety Manual Vol III Chapter 12. The only thing I can find appropriate would be:

1. Service On Uninspected Vessels.