OICNW -Who Needs It?

I’ve shoveled through the threads on these forums and on CG web sites and I still can’t figure out who needs the OICNW. It seems from what I have been able to gather that the required classes etc for the endorcement I’ve already had a more extensive class to get my License. I have a 1600GT Master oceans with GL, WR, and oceans towing endorcement. Any help from this great brain trust of a forum would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

It’s a requirement for any license over 200GRT that authorizes service on outside waters, so to even have a 1,600GRT NC/O license (master or mate) you must also have an STCW certification as OICNW. Look for [B]A-II-1[/B] (OICNW >500GT-ITC) & [B]A-II-2[/B] (master & chief mate >500GT-ITC) on your STCW letter or in the “international” section of your MMC Booklet. In other words, you [B]should[/B] already have it.

I thought I would already have it. I can find on my MMC that “I” have been duly Qualified in Accordance with the provisions of Regulations II/2; V1;VI5 and on the STCW cert it says provisions of Regulations II4, V1,VI2, & II2 ----- Is that where it’s covered? I was looking for the words Officer in Chargs of a Navigational Watch or OICNW somewhere on the docs and it’s not there. Thanks for the come back.

Hey Boat
I went through all the OICNW courses as 500GRT Mate and had a separate STCW certificate until I recently upgraded to Master 1600 and now I have just the MMC. The STCW section list II/2; II/4; IV/2; VI/1; VI/2; VI/3; VI/4. My understanding is that I can upgrade to 3rd & 2nd Mate with sea time only and don’t need to test again until Chief Mate.