Oceans endorsement class required?

Hello all,

So this is probably a quick answer that has likely already been seen here, I’m just mired in other things with work and such, thus hoping someone has a quick answer before I start sifting through CFR’s again (I get lost in there so easily).

I’m upgrading to Master 1600 NC or OC.

For reference I presently hold a 1600 ton Mate NC license with Mate (pilot) of towing vessels and AB-Unlimited. For the past 9 years I’ve been working on towing vessels of which the past 4 years has been as mate. All of that seatime has been written as oceans over 100 ton.

QUESTIONS: Do I need to have a course certificate for celestial nav to apply for the oceans endorsement? I took the course some 8 years ago at Maine Maritime but as a 1600ton student I couldn’t sit for Oceans without more oceans time (finally getting around to it now). Can I sit for the exam without having to take another class or do I need a more recent course certificate? Does the oceans endorsement require a course cert?

If I test for oceans on my Mate 1600 license will oceans be applied to my Master 1600 when I go for that? Or, should I just apply to test for Master 1600 with oceans at the same time. Does it matter?

As an aside, I really wish the maritime academies had an entire course or seminar during senior year on how to interpret the CFR’s and what exactly is required for upgrades/increase-in-scope. This was only glossed over in my license prep course.

Sorry if this is a redundant thread and thank you so much for any help you can render.

This has been discussed. I believe the answer is no. You will have two modules to take 206XX and 207XX if you use the old databank. One is Celestial Navigation is 15 Questions and 80% to pass, the other is a Nav Gen that is 20 questions and 70% to pass. Im about to do this myself, I’ll be using lapware.

If you can find a course that suffices the stcw requirements that would be great. This is why.