New to the Merchant Marine Industry looking for guidance I have a degree and sea time

Hello everyone at gCaptian. I have been lurking the forum for a few weeks now. I hold a valid US Passport, and I just received my TWIC card. I just took my urinalyses yesterday. I will be submitting my MMC application as soon as I get the results. I do not see any issues getting my MMC approved, but I am still real foggy about the details and license structure of the USCG merchant marines. I will try to sum up my experience as concisely as possible. Please give me any input or recommendations you might have about licance application.

I am a 36 year old man. I am a former U.S. Marine. I am located just south of Jacksonville, Florida in the little sea side town of St. Augustine. I was raised here, and it is my plan to keep this as my home of record. I have worked with a friend who runs a 55’ sport fisher for three summers now as a deck hand and mate. Honestly I did not do much but tend lines and bait hooks for the charter guest. It is a fairly large charter company with 5 charter vessels and a commercial fishing vessel. My point is the captain of one boat (good, good buddy) said he will sign off on at least 360 days of sea time as that is about what I actually have on the boat over 3 to 4 summers. He wants to give me more and said the commercial vessel would give me more relevant experience, but I did not honestly serve on that vessel more than 10 or 20 days…… [B]FIRST QUESTION: Should I take my buddy up on his offer to write off a bunch of my sea time? I hear it is some what common. [/B]