Master OSV 3000 GT upgrade to 10000

My question is about upgrading from Master OSV less than 3000 to Master OSV 10000. I’ve been working as Mate on a OSV for more than 2 years (800 seatime days ) I hold a Master License less than 3000 . Can I upgrade my tonnage to Master OSV 10000 ? I know I need 720 days , and I have the seatime, the part that is confusing it says at least 360 must be as Chief Mate (or Master will do also), My whole seatime onboard has been as mate only. if any one has done it , help is appreciated

Have you bothered to look at the CFR?

1 Like

In order to have your time qualify as chief mate, you only need to show you meet the definition in the CFRs. If you were the mate in this position, you get credit.

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-46/chapter-I/subchapter-B/part-10/subpart-A/section-10.107

Chief mate means the deck officer next in rank to the master and upon whom the command of the vessel will fall in the event of incapacity of the master.

No, I read the requisite from NMC , I just get confused with the part that says 360 served as Chief Mate

Thanks

With the way the 10,000 master is structured, I haven’t known anyone to do this track exclusively as of late. I haven’t looked it up in a while, but I wanna say it’s extremely similar to upgrading to Chief Mate and then Master unlimited in regards to sea time, course work, and testing.

I know a lot of Bayou companies write sea time for mates without 2nd/3rd/chief mate….i.e just “mate”. The Chief Mate requirement is black and white. Were you Chief Mate or not?

If you are/were Chief Mate you have 3 options here….either get your company to write your time as Chief Mate, go work for one who does, or work for company as a Chief Mate who writes sea time letters with 3/2/CM titles.

That’s not the only requirement though. What tonnage boats have you been working on?

2500 GT OSV for over 2 years as mate ( I hold a Master license 1600/< 3000) , 12 hours day. Counts as 1.5 days, I have 790 days