Marine Engineering Beginners

Hey,
I am currently completing my engineering apprenticeship and i am very new to the marine engineering world. I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips or any good study material as i am struggling on where to start. Hope this forum can help any other beginners also:)

1 Like

Principles of Naval Engineering is a good, if somewhat dated, place to start.

https://www.amazon.com/Principles-Naval-Engineering-Bureau-Personnel/dp/098258542X

You can get a very old copy in PDF format here:

https://maritime.org/doc/pdf/engineering.pdf

The Reeds Engineering Series is also very good.

https://www.amazon.com/General-Engineering-Knowledge-Engineers-Technology/dp/1472952731

There are at least 16 volumes to that and you can pick and choose the topics that interest you most.

Any of the Navy NonResident Training Courses that are applicable would be good to look at as well. Take this one for instance:

http://www.navybmr.com/study%20material/14075A.pdf

Do a Google Search for “NAVEDTRA” to find more of them.

Hope that helps!

6 Likes

Current edition of Reeds books are garbage. The Thermo book is particularly appalling.

Not an engineer, but have found that some books put it into terms easier to digest and comprehend are helpful. As an example the book that explains “Ship Handling in Narrow Channels”. Written by a pilot who made it simple to understand. I am sure with all the the qualified engineers on this site they can direct you to those type publications in the engineering department. Good luck in your chosen occupation, it is complicated, but much appreciated.

1 Like

Haven’t read the thermodynamics volume. What other books would you recommend?

I found Taylor to be very helpful for my first round of orals.

1 Like