Looking to relocate to Houston

Fort Schuyler almost graduate here (Sept 20), looking to relocate to the Houston area (I’m a navy vet, wife is pregnant), I would like to know how is the job market looking down there, it seems like a good place to raise a family compared to the Northeast. I’m not looking to get rich here, what I want is to be able to provide for my growing family.

So are you looking to work shoreside?

Preferably on ships, since I was on Submarines before merchant ships seem like 5 star hotels for me, but as a new graduate I understand I can’t be picky.

I think the point was that unless you’re looking to work shoreside then why does this matter at all?

Hahahaha

3 Likes

I’ve worked with dozens of guys from the small towns that surround Houston that liked it for various reasons. But it’s a safe bet to say most were tied to the area by a family history of living there. The ones who complained about it all shared the same lines. Too much traffic, too hot, public transportation that wasn’t used by the middle class & above, bad public schools, high crime in certain communities & frequent flooding in a lot of areas. US mega-city wise, Houston probably isn’t the worst place but I think it stopped being a destination for carpet baggers to settle down out of the blue to start a family a few generations ago. Move to New Hampshire or some other tax friendly state that has 4 seasons with public school systems that don’t have metal detectors at the entrances.

3 Likes

I was stationed in Houston from 2004 to 2011. It’s business friendly but I wouldn’t recommend it as a nice place to raise a family.

We found a area (The Woodlands) that seems quite family oriented, we went down for a week to visit and get a feel for the area, and we liked what we saw. My wife is from California and I’m from NYC, so the prices we saw were great. I was thinking TX since it has no income tax, also close to the oil fields and a short plane ride to other job centers.

1 Like