Lighting / vision / Timing/strobe light effect

Sure is nice when you can swing the binocs and see which lights are DC-powered. At least you could back before high-frequency CFLs and LEDs.

1 Like

I have no own experience with this.

On largely lit ferries or cruise-ships, I could always detect the red/green lights with binoculars… before my central view was hit by macular degeneration.

They used binoculars; maybe the red light was registered as the entry to a dockside bordello and the green one to… I don’t know…

Lights (including incandescents) that are powered with 50/60 Hz AC vary in intensity and make a “string of beads” effect instead of a solid line when you waggle the glasses up and down. CFL lamps likewise I expect – but their frequency is around 40 kHz so phosphor persistence may prevent seeing it even if you swing the glasses fast enough. Most LED lights are also powered by pulse-width-modulated or variable frequency sources for efficiency. And even buoy lights may run on some form of AC these days.

I’m a bit red-blind which is certainly a nuisance on the water. This uncommon form of colorblindness (I’m a “protanomalous trichromat”) causes reduced intensity of all reds because some of the low-frequency detectors in the retina are lacking. It also leads to confusion between some shades of green and yellow.

2 Likes

That does not work for incandescent lights. The filaments don’t cool off that fast.
It also doesn’t work for ships that use AC powered anchor/deck lights, which I am guessing is a lot of them. It also doesn’t work for DC powered LED anchor lights depending on how often they are pulsed (PWM driver).

(there is a trick for calibrating an airplane tach by lining up with a streetlight at night and adjusting the RPMs to freeze the blades, I forget the formula)