Joining a union as a senior deck officer

I am looking to transition from the gulf to deep sea and have some questions. If anyone with firsthand knowledge could weigh in it would be very much appreciated.

I hold an Unlimited Master, Tankerman PIC and am trying to decide between MMP and MEBA. Looking to sail RORO or Container ships.

I have spoken with the halls over the phone and they are both promising me the world. Would it really be possible for me to sail as a CM right away without experience on ROROs or Boxboats or are there required training/classes to work on these vessels?

Are the open boards really full of senior level positions that they are having a hard time filling? If so are these jobs permanent?

What union is the best choice for someone with my license looking to join? Why?

Thanks again for any info.

1 Like

It probably is possible to get a relief Mate job off the board but it probably wouldn’t be a great idea. There is going to be a huge learning curve.

2 Likes

Why even allow them to take the job then? If you made this transition would the master try and torpedo you and act like he was sent a bomb by the Union?

Would starting as 2nd mate be any better? Or are you saying you’d have to do some hitches as 3m to understand the job.

I would recommend you actually visit the halls of each union and see what is currently available. There is no specific training or classes other than the license requirements. Would it be possible to snag a CM job right away?..Yes, if it went open and no one with higher seniority grabbed it. That said, I would hope you are confident in your abilities to learn fast, make sure the basics get covered, and hope to God the captain and others are willing to help you as you progress up the learning curve.