Jackupcapt2

Okay, I just registered on gcapt’s forum and I am bound to strike a nerve with many with the following question. Most of my vessel experience is with 24 years in the USN, however, I have three years experience as a 200 ton lift boat captain in the GOM. What I am really interestede in however, is to break in to the towing industry as a mate of towing or pilot. I know this new 30 day wonder thing rubs a lot of the old towing guys the wrong way but we all have to start somewhere and believe it or not guys, there are a lot of talented vessel operators out there. I am familiar with the new USCG rules that came out in the fall of '08. What I am in search of is a company, or companies who are willing to open thier doors to a 200 ton captain to work his way up to mate of towing and, eventually a MOTV. Any advice?

Okay, I guess maybe the “30 day wonder” rule must really be a bad subject on this forum, either that, or no one truely can answer my question from 5 days ago concerning mate of towing jobs.

try http://www.mtvassociation.com/ for information on towing.