On the beach for the first time in 30 years

Hi ,

I’m new to gCaptain. The info I’ve found here over the past month has been really helpful. Now I need some advice so here goes…

I’m a Master 100T NC/Mate 500T NC with Towing endorsement. 56 years old from Washington state. I’ve worked uninterrupted for 30 years in the marine towing industry…20 years with one company, got offered better pay and conditions and worked for that company for 10 years. That company has just given me a “permanent layoff” due to the recession. All of my experience is West Coast, mostly Alaska.

Going into this I know the job market is bad (not to mention it’s winter). I’m doing tons of apps which aren’t producing much (but the “nos” are at least sympathetic), and I’m pulling in all the networking and contacts I can, not that that’s helping any (but at least its fun touching base with all those guys I haven’t talked to in years), and I want to take this time ashore to make some additions to my licensing that can help me get back on the water.

So here are my questions:

1. Do sailors with West Coast experience ever get hired by GOM or East Coast companies? If so what’s the best strategy for pursuing those jobs?

2. What additions to my license would be most helpful (I have OS, Oiler, Tankerman/PIC)? I never got AB, skipped straight from deckhand to Mate then Master, so I was thinking I might get my AB now and maybe I could get an ocean AB job. Advice?

3. Any other advice that can make one more marketable in a recession?

Thanks for any input and thanks to all of you who post here. This is an outstanding community and what being a mariner is all about.

Tim