Is SIU That Bad And Is There Really A Shortage?

Title basically says it all. I just need information and if this is repetitive I apologize. I am new to Gcaptain and am browsing all the time. I am considering to join SIU since my dream was always working on a container ship going overseas. However; is it that bad as they say it is, and is there a huge shortage of mariners?

I am single, no kids, and want to “explore” or travel to other countries for a bit. So I feel like deep sea is perfect for me.

I’ve worked basically the Great Lakes my whole entire maritime career; from 700’-1000’ bulk carrier ships. I’m not new to hard labor.

I’ve had days on the lakes where I had to clean out cargo holds attatched to a harness hiking up the hold, on a chain with a 2 1/2 inch water hose to clean coal out, etc. 15 hour days sometimes but always that. But either way, These jobs were direct hire, so I am extremely new to union halls and all this confusing information to get a job in the hall. I understand the seniority with the A-C book and all that, but I am decisive because I don’t want to be put on a tug or a small ship. (Am I soft? Lol maybe, I don’t want to share a room)

Can I pick which kind of vessel I can be on? I assume that’s how it works?

Even though the Great Lakes does not require any STCW at all(Crazy right) I’ve managed to aquire these credentials:

STCW Basic Training, VPSD, RFPNW, Able-Seaman Unlimited, lifeboatman, OS, and PSC. Obviously have my passport, medical, and TWIC.

The problem is I do not have Able-Seafarer Deck, so I cannot be an AB with all this time I assume with SIU, due to that stupid limitation of AS-D. I do not have it because I got my RFPNW in September of 2023, it is not required on Great Lakes so not enough sea days for AS-D sailing with RFPNW.

I’ve heard however, that they are so short on people at SIU some companies are hiring OS-Special which is essentially OS with AB pay since I have all the credentials except AS-D.