IMO regulations

I am a deck officer aboard the Washington State ferries. Recently another union negotiated with WSF management to have our Quartermaster and Bos’n positions assigned by seniority. Is anyone familiar with an IMO or CFR that would ( Could ) negate the agreement that office management agreed to. As Deck officers we feel that we no longer have any choice even if the most senior person is incompetent. ( This ruling pertains to the AB position only.)
Our hands are tied.

Thanks in advance

Mark

[quote=mwillmes;14349]I am a deck officer aboard the Washington State ferries. Recently another union negotiated with WSF management to have our Quartermaster and Bos’n positions assigned by seniority. Is anyone familiar with an IMO or CFR that would ( Could ) negate the agreement that office management agreed to. As Deck officers we feel that we no longer have any choice even if the most senior person is incompetent. ( This ruling pertains to the AB position only.)
Our hands are tied.

Thanks in advance

Mark[/quote]

They finally got that one through, huh? Ouch.

I don’t know, but this might help, especially on those boats:

§ 78.47–57 Rudder orders.
(a) At all steering stations, there
shall be installed a suitable notice on
the wheel or device of in such other position
as to be directly in the helmsman’s
line of vision, to indicate the direction
in which the wheel or device
must be turned for ‘‘right rudder’’ and
for ‘‘left rudder.’’

:eek:

In all seriousness though, I would think that if the ABs in question are holding a valid MMC with RFPNW, you’re pretty much out of luck. You get what you get. The only way around it would be for the deck officers involved to claim that the AB is incompetent, and that opens a whole new can of worms doesn’t it? But until someone has the guts to do just that I think you’re fucked. What does MM&P’s legal dept. have to say on this?