Hydraulic oil question

I am not an engineer, my tug does not have an engineer, we have an anti-engineer.

It’s a small tug 65ft and I would like a recommendation on hydraulic oil to buy for the steering system. It has not been changed since we have owned the boat.

It’s a home or yard built system with a small tank, two pumps, two rams topside, and some valves and piping. I do not see a filter in the system. When shopping I see different viscosity like AW32, AW46 etc

Can someone explain in layperson’s terms the difference and recommend something?

1 Like

First off hire an engineer, they can be shoreside but get a person with real mechanical know how.

Secondly your steering gear is one of your vessels most important systems, don’t take internet advice.

Call whoever built your steering gear and ask them what they used (blending hydraulic oils is bad)

While you’re at it change your filters

I was more interested in the viscosity part of the question. I am attempting to “profesionalize” the boat for lack of a better term, but it’s an uphill battle. My owner who rides the barge buys oil at price club by the case when on sale and buys gear oil at Autozone.
He buys Shell Rotella 15w-40 and puts it into everything, I have intervened on behalf of the 3-71s and purchased the correct oil for them.

1 Like

Just some thoughts in addition to @DavidMT advise (which you should listen to) , but based on your description of this operation in general I’m going to assume you don’t do any sort of oil sample testing. If you can’t find any info on the original maker, it might be worth sending a sample to a testing lab to find out what viscosity you are running now. If the system functions without issue now it makes sense to stick with similar oil knowing nothing else.

There are other things to consider too, like temperature rating of the oil. It should be easy enough to take some temp readings during normal operation.