HELP NEEDED: Link between Gross Tonnage and Deceleration

HELP NEEDED: Link between Gross Tonnage and Deceleration

Hi,

I am a final year undergraduate from the National University of Singapore, majoring in Civil Engineering. I am doing some research for my Final Year Project, which requires the information described in the title.

Basically, I am looking to value-add to existing ship domain models, by introducing the element of deceleration when making speed/course changes during any point of the vessel’s course. This would of course involve certain key terms like advance/transfer, ship’s tactical diameter etc. I earnestly seek advise and help from any one who is able to direct me to the relevant information (maybe send me results from sea trials conducted for various ships?), and also please feel free to give me directions on how I can improve on my thesis! Thank you!

You may contact me via bealeliu@gmail.com

There is no link between Gross Tonnage and deceleration.

[QUOTE=cmakin;131635]There is no link between Gross Tonnage and deceleration.[/QUOTE]

Hi, how about if I just want to look for those data? Will it be readily available online?

[QUOTE=Beale Liu JieXiong;131661]Hi, how about if I just want to look for those data? Will it be readily available online?[/QUOTE]

do your research on coefficients of drag and wetted area vs. displacement. That is what will point you to the answers you seek.

Effectively, there is no link between Gross Tonnage and deceleration. The momentum depends upon the displacement and the square of speed of that vessel. Thus a lighter ship will gain or lose speed faster than a deeply loaded vessel. A large and fully laden tanker will travel longer after the engine is stopped. The reverse will happen when the tanker is in ballast and thus travel at a lesser distance. After given engine movement, a loaded tanker will come to the designed speed slower than the same tanker in ballast.