Going on a Criuse

So I’ve been sitting on the beach for the past six months spending all my money on cheap cars and fast women, waiting for NOAA to decide to hire me which apparently they are never going to do…So I was starting to look into other avenues and just today I got an email from P and O Cruises, a large British company saying they want to hire me as a Deckhand and pay me 4000 quid a month, all travel paid. Not too shabby eh? I think Im going to accept, more to just get out of the house than anything else.

These ships are friggin massive!!!

So has anyone here worked in Deck dept. on one of these big cruise ships? Whats the experience like? I guess I’ll find out.

Anyone work on British ships? Any major differences: customs, terminology, limey slang?

Also I have to get a temporary 2 year British MMC and ICC document. The company handles all that though, so its no sweat on my part.

That’s great! Congrats. How did you apply for this job opportunity, and how much experience have you had? What kind of position is it?

^^^Thanks, I applied online on simplyhired. They are hiring deckhands, ABs, engineers, and mates. Also non-maritime staff. Its a Deckhand position. I wanted to apply for AB, but I only have an AB Special, I believe you need a Limited or Un. The pay is really pretty damn good. More than the day rate I would make as an AB in the Gulf not including overtime. In addition to the monthly base pay, apparently you get a 300 pound weekly allowance and a paid months long vacation at the end of every four months. Is this typical for cruise ship companies? Prior to this I worked for MSC (ughh!!!) and worked on liftboats in the GOM.