Working on a cruise ship

Hi everyone. I made a quick introduction in the Cadet section, as I have yet to begin my time at CMA, but I thought I would post a quick question here.
I guess I will introduce myself quickly before I jump into my question. My name is Thomas and I am an American student currently living in Japan, and have been accepted into CMA as a Maritime Transportation major.
My goal in the future has always been to work in the deck department on a cruise ship. Of course I also have some interest in other types of vessels, however my love for the travel industry has motivated me to the cruise ship jobs.
It seems like there are not many on this board involved in cruise lines, am I correct? Is there a reason for this? Should I assume it is primarily because the pay is not as great?
Has anyone ever made their first jump into the industry from an academy into the cruise line companies? Or does it perhaps require a resume with much more experience?
Any information is appreciated, I am just curious and am trying to expand my knowledge.
Thanks!
Thomas

Basically there are next to zero jobs on big US flagged cruiseships. After NCLA discovered that they could not fill three cruiseships in Hawaii they are now down to one. There are also the riverboat cruise vessels on the Mississippi but I do not believe there is must turnover there plus you have to be a riverboat pilot.

Up until last year there were quite a few smaller cruise vessels working on the Columbia River up to SE Alaska but now Majestic Cruises is no longer in business so there are fewer jobs there now as well. The biggest name in small cruise vessels in Alaska is Cruise West which seems to be looking for mates quite often. I do not believe that they pay much which is why.

Lastly, for foreign flagged cruise vessels go. I do not know too many who hire American officers. I heard that Disney has some but that’s it as far as I know.

Aloha- I’ve worked on 5 US flagged cruise ships.