Globe Wireless Digital HF

Globe Wireless still seems to be marketing HF based data solutions. I was curious if anyone is still seeing this kind of technology out in the fleet? I’m curious because I’m an amateur radio operator and HF is still an area of interest for me. I suppose most things have gone to satellite or terrestrial cellular networks. On the other hand, HF might be cheaper for global, low throughput communications. Thanks for indulging my curiosity.

Best,

Robert

As part of the required GMDSS Equipment for most cargo vessels HF/MF Equipment is included . Google search GMDSS PowerPoint slides. If you’re interested in amateur radio, you’ll probably enjoy learning how the system behind marine communications works.

I have some books on the subject, GMDSS A User’s Handbook by Denise Brehaut and GMDSS A study guide for the Global Maritime Distress Safety System by Richard K. Bass. I also have the GROL + RADAR study guide by Gordon West. The Bass book goes into NBDP radioteletype as part of the GMDSS coverage. I’m assuming that what Globe Wireless Digital HF is doing is more sophisticated than radio teletype, but I don’t know that for a fact.

Best,

Robert

Looks like INMARSAT gobbled them up in December and I can’t find much about the service. A webpage exists for the system on the company site (http://www.globewireless.com/network/hf) but nothing actually directs to it from anywhere else, leading me to believe it’s now defunct. From the description there though, it seems pretty limited.