GLMA/Maritime Industry Questions & Concerns

Hi! I’m a 19-year-old college student and I’ve been going over potential careers for myself and this one has stood out to me a lot. Especially because of the time off and of course I’ve always loved the water. Lately I’ve been thinking of attending Great Lakes Maritime Academy for their deck officer program. I’ve done a lot of research on my own but I still have a few questions.

1. Are the GLMA students friendly? I have a mild case of social anxiety so I’m hoping it’ll be easy to make friends here.

2. What is it like working on the lakes? Average schedule/rotation? Pay? Can you give me a day in the life of a deck officer on the lakes?

3. I know GLMA isn’t regimented but how physically fit should I be to succeed at the academy and the career in general? I’m not the most fit person, sometimes I get winded going up a few flights of stairs haha. Can’t lift much either. Just want to know if I need to begin a rigorous workout routine or something

4. While not a HUGE concern it would be nice to be home for holidays and such. So would I be able to pick and choose which months I want to work?
    For example: work: (feb, mar, apr) off: (may, june, july) work: (aug, sept, oct) off: (nov, dec, jan) Would this be possible? If not is there usually internet access available on the ships so I could at least skype my family?

5. Could I eventually be able to work half the year and still net six figures?

6. I don’t see many women in this career field. Would it be harder for me to find a job compared to a man? Is sexual harassment common? I’ve heard most women work on passenger ships, is this true?

If anyone currently goes to GLMA please message me so we can chat!

Sorry if these aren’t the best questions, I’m just really new to all of this and would love to hear from you all.