Prospective Student with a lot of questions - GLMA

Hey everyone,

I’ve been browsing this forum quite a bit gathering the myriad perspectives that everyone has on the seven maritime academies. While I did find a wealth of information from other people addressing maritime academy questions, I’d love to get some more details about what life might be like during and after the Great Lakes Maritime Academy.

A bit about me - I’m 23, just graduated with my Bachelor of Arts, I majored in Environmental Politics. I’m not really interested in a degree option, I just want my license - which is the main reason I’m attracted to GLMA because I can finish in three years. I’m also attracted to it because it certifies you to sail on the Great Lakes and the open ocean.

The main reason I’m attracted to becoming a mariner is because I’ve traveled the world already, and I want to continue to do so. I feel like this is a great way to do that (please do correct me if I’m wrong, according to your own experience with travel). I feel like being a mariner is one of the last ways to get a decent dose of exploration and adventure in one’s life. I simply cannot stand working a desk job, and I’d much rather be popping to and from Greece, Singapore, etc. Also, being away from home is totally no problem for me. I find it kind of enlightening actually, to be removed from society/cell phones/internet, etc. I think I would enjoy constantly being on the road [sea].