Equivelants of 3rd's unlimited horsepower license to 4000DDE/DDE unlimited/ etc?

Hello,

I was hoping someone out there would happen to be familiar with CFRs or highly knowledgeable of licensing information. I graduated from a maritime academy with a 3rd Assistant Eng. steam/motor/ gas turbine of any horsepower, now i am currently working on a OSV of over 3000itc and a little over 10000hp. I was curious to know if that license is higher than a DDE unlimited or a 4000DDE or if there is an equivalent. I was really hoping not to have to fill out more paperwork and take an exam that I have already more or less taken. Please help, it will be greatly apprectiated.

ps
I am very close to upgrading to 2nd assistant eng. unlimited motor if that makes a difference.

There is an equivalent. Ch. 12 of the Marine Safety Manual has a chart that shows all the equivalencies. 3A/E is higher than a DDE in the sense that an unlimited license is a top tier license and a DDE is a lower tier license. However, 3A/E is only “equivalent” to A/E limited. DDE is higher in the sense that you cannot sail as even a DDE1000 if that is what is legally required.

When you upgrade to 2nd, you can get a C/E, limited at the same time. You will get C/E, limited-Oceans any HP because your time is over 10K, but YOU HAVE TO ASK! You could go get a DDE unlimited tomorrow without an exam if you wanted to, but they will charge you the $150 for it so unless it is required for some reason save the money and just wait till you upgrade.

Thank you very much for the clarification, I greatly appreciate the help.

For a “new” Academy 3 A/E another option is to apply for a DDE Endorsement. Per the USCG Marine Safety Manual, Vol II Chapt 12 it says:
“10. Academy Graduates: [B]Designated Duty Engineer-NMT 4000[/B] Horsepower.