Entry Level Employment...again

Well I’m new at this. After 21 years at my current employment I’m retiring. Actually switching careers is a better term. But with the talk of the almost non-existing opportunities for entry level positions within the Mariner Services …it can be sort of demoralizing. Well I got an email from a Kirby Corp recruiter to contact them once I complete by BST (04/30/12 – 05/04/12) and a RFPNW class and it’s assessment.

I’d always preferred large ocean going cargo or tanker ships. The local Union indicated that they can get me work as entry level OS/Wiper/FH but only after the BST and a RFPNW class and it’s assessment (3 day course). Since nothing is 100% certain, Kirby looks like an opportunity I can’t or shouldn’t pass. My problem is that I am a dedicated employee. Once I grab employment I am there for 20+ year (or until retirement). It is my understanding that Kirby is a Tow/Tug Boat company. And a very impressive company.

Four questions:[ol]
[li]Should I wait for what I prefer (Oversea Container/Cargo)? [/li][li]What is it like working for Kirby?[/li][li]Does Kirby operate on the West Coast?[/li][li]Does Kirby operate within the offshore arenas (oversea movement)?[/li][/ol]
Thanks.

My understanding of kirby is that they are a mississippi river company, though a very large outfit. They recently bought k-sea which runs east coast (mostly new york and philly) but I think they left that as it’s own company that does it’s own hiring. I do not believe they work foreign at all.

If you want to ship on big ships try msc. That seems to be the most consistent world traveling opportunity for american mariners.

[QUOTE=Capt. Phoenix;67715]My understanding of kirby is that they are a mississippi river company, though a very large outfit. They recently bought k-sea which runs east coast (mostly new york and philly) but I think they left that as it’s own company that does it’s own hiring. I do not believe they work foreign at all.