Engineers on the big boats

Hi guys im new in the industry and new to this site i am wanting to know about going from these crew boats to them big boats. What do i need to do ? i mean do i need to go to some engineering school and which boats pay the most? Im looking for direction. Thanks, slipknot

Do you mean OSVs or deep draft? Does your employer operate either? Assuming that they do, the first place to check would be your company’s training department or your human resources department. Tell them what you want to do and see if they point you in the right direction.

dougpine, thanks for your reply but im not sure i know the diffrence. i know that an “osv” is off shore vessel but im not sure about deep draft. to be honest anything ove 6 feet is “deep draft” to me. i am thankful for your input but thes guys dont have anything other than crew boats. im keeping this on the down low. i dont want them (my employer) to know im looking for new work. ive got a z card and an stcw but no future if i stay where im at.i keep seeing thes big boats there in fourchon and thinking i could do that. i mean come on you dont have to go to an academy or have a degree to run them boats do ya? surly not.