Can someone help me with ranking and what not I'm curious and lost

So I am an engineer by trade from the navy I’m looking to move into commercial shipping. I know very little about th merchant marines. I am currently managing a marina full time and crewing on a 62 ft racing yacht as well. Eventually I would like to be a captain. Obviously that’s a long way off but in the mean time how does becoming an officer work. Are engineers officers? Can I work towards captain from the engineering department?

How does it work being an officer? Are engineers not considered officers at all. Do I need to be deck and ab etc to move up to the bridge?

Any suggested books about the merchant marines to learn more?

Lastly are private yacht crew and captains part of the merchant marines?

[QUOTE=Veit;47124]Lastly are private yacht crew and captains part of the merchant marines?[/QUOTE]

Well lad, it all depends if it’s a breakbulk commercial racing yacht or a boxboat commercial racing yacht, or if it fits in the slot of one of those pretend not to be a ship tank barge things then you might be, what’s it say on your MMC?

But, since you said it’s a private yacht, and a sailboat by the sound of it, no it’s not part of the merchant marine.

http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/

Veit, this site has most of the answers…But leave you with many more questions…lol…

.Take some time and look it over, read the links to the CFR’s…The come back and ask us your questions…It’s better if you do some research first then you’ll understand what we are talking about better…

When you get done with NMC’s page spend some time here as well…This will help you understand what your prior Navy time will do for you…

http://www.uscg.mil/directives/cim/16000-16999/CIM_16000_8B.pdf