Soon to be AB/QMED curious about progressing in my career

I am a student at Tongue Point Job Corps Center in the Seamanship program. I will be completing the program with my AB and QMED credentials within the next couple of months. I am interested in working as a QMED and working my way up in the engineering department throughout my career.

I am pretty new to all things mechanical (only within the past six months). I’ve come to enjoy working in the engine room on our training vessel here at Tongue Point and would like to pursue a career as an engineer. I have thoughts of becoming a Chief Engineer one day. As someone who is new to mechanics and engine room matters, I was wondering how I should approach becoming the best engineer I can be. I understand that there will be a lot of ‘on the job’, and ‘hands on’ training that will take place which will help me learn the ropes in the engine room. Does anyone have any good recommendations for books/videos/media that I could/should read while working as an engineer to help me become a better engineer? Perhaps something that I could read off watch that would help me understand the job better?

Also, I am interested in sailing international on larger vessels. I have my eye on Edison Chouest Offshore at the moment, but am open to just about any company that is hiring. I have an up to date passport and TWIC card. Any suggestions on international work, or perhaps just getting a lot of sea time? Any leads on companies that are hiring or looking to hire within the next two months or so?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Lots of good info in the forums here for job hunting and such. If you haven’t checked old threads out yet…

Have you done basic safety training yet? If not that will help to get hired immensely. Also rfpnw for your ab and rfpew for your qmed.