Driving a covered or freefall lifeboat

Good evening all. I would really, really appreciate your help. I am a writer. I am researching for a children’s book which has 2 characters. A lifeboat (the orange type found on the sides of ships) and a powerboat (Miami Vice-style, ‘Cigarette’ type, fast, sleek, oodles of hp). Would anyone who has experience of driving this type of lifeboat be kind enough to describe what they are like to drive? How do they compare? What are they lacking? Where do they win/where do they lose? Are they pretty adept or like driving a bathtub? And what does driving a bathtub feel like, anyway? How would you describe trying to moor one of these lifeboats in a crowded marina? Do they go faster than 6knots? If the tidal stream was 5 knots and it was very windy would they go backwards? I can make a few clichéd guesses but it would be better pick up some real experiences. Many thanks, Rob

I think driving a bathtub would be an improvement over most lifeboats.

6 Likes

Hey! Thanks for replying! That bad are they? I’ve read they are designed really just to get away from the danger. But does that mean the designers expect the occupants to just sit tight and wait for pick up, or could you keep moving (say, for a coastline a few miles away?). Would you know? Have you driven one? Thanks, Rob

Don’t know if this tell you anything you are looking for:

Lifeboats are meant to save lives in an emergency at sea, not to sail long distances, or to “dock at marinas”

1 Like

Hi,

thanks for getting back to me and for this video. I will take a look.

What is in your opinion is a long distance? And I know they are not likely ever to find themselves docking/mooring up at a marina, but if they did, what would it be like to drive?