Deck V Engine pay

I am a deck student at a maritime college but am leaning towards switching to engine for the more benefits it offers. One of the concerns I have if I stay with deck is the supposedly less money than make compared to their 3ae counterparts. I don’t want to sound like I’m only doing this for the money, but it bothers me to know that my engine counterparts will be making substantially more money doing a comparable job. Is this a true assessment of what the pay is aboard deep sea ships?

[B][U]IMHO[/U][/B]…have worked vessels where the the engineer made more than the captain…no for long…ultimate responsibility should be compensated with ultimate pay!!

I don’t think there is that much difference in pay for that to be your deciding factor. It’s more like greater availability of jobs at sea and ashore for the engineeering side. And at least for now less BS involved with moving up.

Forget about the $ aspect and do what you enjoy most, just my 2cents

[QUOTE=rshrew;47663]Forget about the $ aspect and do what you enjoy most, just my 2cents[/QUOTE]

Agreed. If you choose your living soley based on how much you think that you will make, you will always be working, and your work will be a job and all that goes with it. If you choose your living doing what you want, well everything changes.