Commercial cruise

Hey guys,
I’m in my second year at CMA, and will be doing my commercial cruise this year. I will be sailing with MSC, shipping out around June 1st for 60 some odd days. Out of the group of cadets sailing with MSC this year, I get second pick. Was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on what type of ship to try and sail on? At first I was going to go with a tanker to get my PIC, but I can’t do the 90 days.
Thanks.
Jeremy

You didn’t say if you were deck or engine. If you are in deck:

Go to ammo ships, Lewis & Clark class (T-AKE). Ammo experience is hard to get. Plus those ships do enough fuel that getting your PIC signed off is no problem. Modern plant and propulsion, lots of arrivals/ departures to load cargo, usually a pair of helos on a deployment and those are modern and comfortable, unlike the old Navy T-AEs.

Don’t go to an oiler. Those do no ammo, some cargo, and are so outdated what you learn there about bunkering would make for a good historical book. Tanker trash.

The other classes of ships at MSC are pidgin holes - except for general navigation what you learn on those have little application to other ships.

Sorry, I’m a deck cadet. I’ll see if any T-AKE ships are available. Even I go with a ship that’d I be able to get my loads and discharges, don’t I also need 90 days? Because of the late ship out date, I don’t think I’d be able to do 90 days.

Yes you will have to do 90days to get your PIC unless things have changed.

Yep need 90 days on a tanker for PIC. You will regret not doing that. I know a few mates who regret not getting their PIC when they had the chance. It makes you that much more valuable, and in today’s world you can not afford to not have every endorsement available.

If the AKE’s turn out to be no go, the Supply-class AOE’s would be good experience. They do ammo, fuel and cargo and they tend to steam a good bit with task and battle groups.

here is just a little update.