College of Oceaneering Alumni Thread

Did you go to The College of Oceaneering in any of its previous or current names?

My understanding is Oceaneering International started it to crash course their California Coastal Oil field divers but then it was taken over by the private sector.
“For Profit”

The credits are good enough for an AS Degree recognized by most muckity, muck schools.

I CLEP’ed my General Ed in the MIlitary and got my AS Degree in Marine Science with my Elective Credits from COO.

Anyway I know there is a pretty big following for an Alumni page on FB. Maybe some vets on here also.

I had an old instructor Al Derantainy (RIP) that was an old salt to the core. He told me after I got to the gulf to ask to drive the boat as much as possible. “Never know when it might come in handy.”

He was an old salt that spent his off time sailing solo around the world.

After I graduated with a debt of about 25k in school loans the best i could do was $8.50/hr in Murray, KY.

I was living in an airstream trailor behind the bosses shed. No running water.

Had to take truck stop or just plain old Tennesse River showers.

Finally got turned onto towboats after doing many a wheel job.

Been doin good since.

Many men before and after me have been and were successfull at commercial diving.

Guess i just never rubbed elbows with the right crowd and I tried to break out when the gulf was bust.

Oh, well. It looks good on a resume and my wall anyway.

Al joined CDC while I was teaching there. Great bunch of guys to work with. Al Nesbit, Reno Haines and of course Jim joiner.
Rit

Yeah all industry experts when I was there.

who was the fella that did the gold mining on his off time?

Instructor over the fish tanks.