Career advice on ATB's?

Hello, I’m currently a freshman at a Maritime College here in Houston and I was wondering if they were any Mariners here who are or have worked on ATB’s or have insightful knowledge about them? They have always peaked my interests, and I think I would like to work on those ships, What is like to work on ATB Vessels? How are the working conditions onboard? How has your experience and impression been working on these ships? Why do you sail on them? How is the pay? What type of jobs would be onboard these ships, especially in the Deck Department?
What are the Pros and Cons of employment on these vessels, overall in general?
What type of education/endorsements/experience/etc is needed or recommended to work on these Articulated Tug Barges? Any advice for starting a career in this aspect of the Maritime industry would be helpful.
I know the following companies that operate them are Crowley, Kirby Offshore Marine, Reinauer Transportation, US Shipping Corp, Vane Brothers, Bouchard Transportation, Moran, and OSG. I know some hire through the Unions too.

1 Like

Most will tell you ATBs are the place to be. I am completely neutral on this subject. There are pros and cons to both conventional towing and ‘pin’ boats. One big thing is coming out of the notch by accident at sea is something you don’t have to worry about on a wire boat. Another is making and breaking tow is less labor extensive on an atb. This is something that can’t be truly appreciated till after one spends some time on a wire boat.
Assuming you are on a atb with a barge that has a ballast system, being at sea will be more comfortable in general. No cargo and no ballast on the barge, different story.