Bow foils installed on ferry

This foil design was mentioned in another thread a few days ago, which is now closed:

Here is an article to follow up on that, with the first installation being a reality:

Canards are nothing new. They were used on the Concorde and on other aircraft. It’s no surprise they might provide a stabilizing effect to ships’ hulls especially if they are articulated like anti-roll stabilizers. I’m no expert but I’m sure someone can provide some useful insight. @Tupsis ?

That’s what it said in the first article quoted:

“The principe has been known for 150 year”, which is a hell of a lot longer than since the Concord first flew.

1 Like

So why are they acting like they have found the holy grail.

Installation of wings to existing vessel may completely change flow around bulbous bow. It may create even extra resistance.

1 Like

They have been testing it in model tanks and though computer modelling. They are now testing it in real life on this small ferry in the Faroeys. Maybe better to wait for the result of that to pass judgement.

1 Like

Closed only because he was linking to an article published over 1 year ago to a thread with last post over 3 years old.

I’m glad you started a new thread with more recent info since you’re interested specifically in ‘foils’.

2 Likes

Oh how clever!! Play on words to foil somebody?

Interesting. But what happens when the ship pitches so the bow is out of water and then slams into the water again? Has any model tank testing been done in seaways? My experience to reduce pitching and bow impacts of passenger ships in storms is that only slowing down and/or changing course help. If these foils are out, when the bow slams into the water in severe weather, they will be knocked off at once.

I would be surprised if that has not been thought of and tested.
Maybe they are smart enough to set a weather limit for when the foils are deployed?