Blog of a PMI Workboat Mate Academy alum

Hi all! I’m relatively new to gCaptain but I finished the PMI workboat program last spring and I started blogging about it at http://www.simenstad.blogspot.com when I first started going to sea as a cadet 3 years ago. If anyone is interested in learning about the program, you might be interested in reading my blog or discussing questions here on the site; I’d love to share my story and hear yours! Thanks! ~ ES

I am reading it, I especially like the pictures. Just out of curiousity what drew you to PMI versus one of the other maritime academies.

I am considering GLMA

If your not worried about getting a Bachelors degree and dropping 85K and the type of work you want to do is not unlimited, The work boat academy is a good way to go. Only two years and a lot less $.

[QUOTE=jshrz;92889]I am reading it, I especially like the pictures. Just out of curiousity what drew you to PMI versus one of the other maritime academies.

I am considering GLMA[/QUOTE]

Thanks for reading! I was particularly drawn to PMI because I have a certain affinity for tugboats especially, and so I was not in need of an unlimited license and did not feel it was necessary to go to a full-blown maritime academy, as it would have equipped me with a larger license than I wanted and would take almost twice as long as well as cost a lot more money. I also already went to college (a running joke on the boats, when the guys find out I have a bachelors degree they naturally ask “what on earth are you doing here then?”) and so a degree was not something I was looking for.