Biden To Pardon All Federal Simple Marijuana Conviction

I would assume most mariners or potential mariners with marijuana conviction were convicted on the state level (Not mariners from DC or US territories obviously) but wonder how this is going to look on new USCG applications?

I think it’s great btw.

1 Like

Good

2 Likes

Probably won’t matter. The CGs definition of conviction is based on whether you were found guilty or plead guilty. I don’t think a Pardon negates a conviction, its not an expungement, and even if it were the CG only allows expungements to count if it’s because the court made a mistake.

But I agree, this is a good start at reviewing drug schedules.

5 Likes

With the flooding of fentanly in our boarders no apparent gateway drug penatly, what could possibly go wrong?

1 Like

I’m not a lawyer, but I’m pretty sure accepting a pardon means you admit you’re guilty

Gateway drug lol, my gateway drug was alcohol

5 Likes

Nicotine is the highly addictive gateway drug.

To a much lessor extent, alcohol too.

I’m against marijuana use, however, Prohibition and the war on drugs has failed.

Biden does not care about fentanyl. If he did, he would not have thrown the border wide open.

More than anything, Biden is just buying votes and shoring up the Democratic base with these pardons.

3 Likes

Nor should it. People with a drug conviction have demonstrated an inability and/or unwillingness to follow the law regarding a mind altering substance. Not who the USCG should be signing off on to man our ships.

There’s a lot of illegal activities I think would be a good time (including weed), but I don’t partake because I value my job/career.

It was these darn things for me. After a few boxes of candy cigarettes I went straight to paint huffing…

download.jpeg

5 Likes

Oh come on, at least half of everyone I’ve worked with offshore is a raging alcoholic, and the CG even let’s you come back after a DUI after a period of time.