Are there unions other than SIU?

Hello all,

Prospective mariner here trying to figure out how to nudge my way into the industry. From what I can tell, SIU is certainly the best publicized union out there, and their Unlicensed Apprentice program seems like a good way to start out, and from what I’m finding everywhere else it seem like one of the only ways. Does anyone know of other paths to entry? What other other unions are out there and how do they compare? Is union membership even worth it in this industry? Your time and effort is much apreciated. Thanks!

So before all the flaming bullshit starts…There are other unions, they are what they are, some companies only use union crews, some use the unions against each other, some places like the GoM will run you off for even thinking about unions. There are many paths into the maritime industry. Some of these are based on your education, some your location, lots of them on who you know or can reach out to. I’m a vet that came back to working at sea via the PMI Workboat Mate Program - not that my old time VA benies contributed, but a newly minted vet has better benies, at least for now. There are the academies if you have the time, money, and aptitude.

The academies sound great, but hindsight is always 20/20. I’m finishing my BA in something that makes me a good fit for the State Department, or UN, or something in that vein (International Studies). But the more I learned about that business the less I want to be involved. Long story short, I blew a bunch of money I didn’t have on a degree that is otherwise unemployable, so hawespipe it is for me. I’m just trying to find the best way onto a boat to start out.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Do you have any experience? What work so you picture yourself doing? SIU is pretty much The Union for unlicensed crew wishing to sail blue water. There’s a lot of sectors in this industry that don’t fall into that though.

[QUOTE=Zachattach94;162553]Hello all,