Anyone have any good leads on getting work on cargo/international type ships?

I am currently a junior engineer on a ship that has been tied up in dry dock for 6 months and I am looking at potentially moving to another company that will allow me to get a lot of sea time.

I was considering Military Sealift Command because I like the idea of international travel, and supporting the military.

I have also thought about container ships/tankers (APL, Maersk, Chevron, etc.). It seems that, for these types of ships, it’s not very easy to get work as an unlicensed crew member. Most of the job openings that I’ve seen have always been for licensed mariners. I have an AB/QMED and am willing to utilize either.

Any suggestions for getting a job on an internationally operating ship?

If you get a Filipino passport and learn Tagalog there are loads of AB jobs on cargo/international type ships.

W[QUOTE=pedersenshawn;163842]I am currently a junior engineer on a ship that has been tied up in dry dock for 6 months and I am looking at potentially moving to another company that will allow me to get a lot of sea time.

I was considering Military Sealift Command because I like the idea of international travel, and supporting the military.

I have also thought about container ships/tankers (APL, Maersk, Chevron, etc.). It seems that, for these types of ships, it’s not very easy to get work as an unlicensed crew member. Most of the job openings that I’ve seen have always been for licensed mariners. I have an AB/QMED and am willing to utilize either.

Any suggestions for getting a job on an internationally operating ship?[/QUOTE]

Aside from MSC there are about 100 or so U.S. flag ships sailing foreign. Almost all are crewed by unions, the SIU, SUP and the MFOW. How long it takes to ship depends on how shipping is.

[QUOTE=follow40;163870]If you get a Filipino passport and learn Tagalog there are loads of AB jobs on cargo/international type ships.[/QUOTE]