Advice for Switching Companies (Master of Towing)

I’m new to gCaptian, this seems like a great place to get advice from seasoned mariners.

I’m 27 years old completing a 500-ton upgrade in August. My previous employer has offered to pay for my upgrade if I sign a contract.

My question is whether it’s worth it to go back with my old company or to look for another job?

My predicament is that my previous employer only has tugs under 100-tons. In order to upgrade my license to 1600-ton, I need to be onboard vessels over 100-ton. Also, right now they don’t have much work and there’s a good chance they’ll put me in the yard to manage the maintenance on the vessels. (I also act as unlicensed engineer among the small fleet.)

Most of my experience is with small tugs moving around crane and A-frame barges. I still need more experience, but my comfort level has improved quite a bit. Commercially, I’ve only worked for this one company and don’t know what it takes to move on to larger companies. Ideally, I’d like to get on-board as Mate on a large tug or OSV.

If you have any advice for a young motivated mariner looking to continue up the hawspipe, please give me your opinion. My main objective right now is to continue to gain experience and tonnage.

Out of respect, please don’t try and guess my previous employer. I’d like to keep this anonymous.

Below is general description of my experience (I’m curious to know what you think I should negotiate for a salary)

-Experience on the whole East coast from Canada to Texas including parts of the Caribbean
-Comfortable setting up barges on four-point anchor spreads
-Maneuvering barges up to 160 ft in tight positions with no visibility
-Emergency response to fuel spills and collisions
-Dive and crane ops
-Experience in New York harbor (Spent 4 Summers running a 122ft dinner boat around the harbor)
-I also have an MBA in International Business and BBA in Marketing