Able Seaman - Unlimited

I just moved here from the Philippines. I was a 3rd Officer sailing worldwide on Tanker Vessels before
I moved here last 2016. I process my MMC and was issued an Ordinary Seaman endorsement. They credited my sea service and was issued an ABLE SEAMAN - UNLIMITED endorsement. I am planning to sail international and they required me to have a ABLE SEAFARER - DECK Endorsement. I already have the RFPNW Endorsement but I need 360 Days of sea service to qualify for ABLE SEAFARER - DECK Endorsement. I am looking for a job that can helped me to acquire sea service for my AS-Deck Endorsement. With further readings, working with passenger ferries are not counted (I’m not sure with this) for sea service. Where can I go for a job or to do some inquiries regarding this matters.

Thank you!

Ian_Ag4R

IIRC Unlimited are grandfathered for Seafarer Deck prior to 2017. You already have more than 360 days of sea time. You have at least 1080 days of sea time.

I was credited with 1445 days from
My international sea service, but after they gave me my RFPNW Endorsement, the USCG wants a sea service (360 days) after the RFPNW issuance. That’s my problem right now… where to get the Sea service.

You may have to sail as an OS…
Lots of tug companies don’t require the abs to have all the stcw endorsements…however most tugs are under 200 grt so I don’t know if time on tugs would benefit you towards getting ab seafarer deck…

I think I just need 100Tons and Up. I’m
Still asking around where to go, some people that I have talked said those are in the Union like IBU, SUP and SIU…

Thank you Sir!

You should be able to crossover from national to STCW and get your Able Seafarer Deck, with AB unlimited there should be no extra sea time needed, but you do need to satisfy competency requirements as per STCW table A-II/5, which is basically assessments. You can either do it through sea service or taking an AS-D class.