AB osv - Unlimited AB 1080 sea time

I have completed the requirements to test for 1600 ton mate I have 912 - 12 hour days on vessels 199 tons. Can I get an AB unlimited on that without testing? Just looking for the easy way if anyone knows I appreciate your help

You are going to have to test for it. When I got my 500 ton Master license I had to take the AB test along with it.

Thanks Capt. Hard to believe with all that time, experience and training they won’t just give it to you

I know of guys that had 1600 or 500 ton Master licenses for years, but never had an AB. I heard that some of those were just given the AB, but I had also heard of guys with the same credentials that had to test. I had to test it because I was coming from a 100 ton crew boat upgrading to 500 ton Master. I thought it was funny I had to get the AB credentials, but you already qualified for 500 Ton Master credentials.

[QUOTE=Capt. Lee;49104]I know of guys that had 1600 or 500 ton Master licenses for years, but never had an AB. I heard that some of those were just given the AB, but I had also heard of guys with the same credentials that had to test. I had to test it because I was coming from a 100 ton crew boat upgrading to 500 ton Master. I thought it was funny I had to get the AB credentials, but you already qualified for 500 Ton Master credentials.[/QUOTE]

Whenever I got my 1600 ton Master, I was given the AB unlimited. I had the AB-OSV to that point. I believe they WILL give it to you at a point, I just don’t know what that point is.

The FRC is what I think is stupid, for those that have unlimited mate and master licenses not being qualified unless you take a few days of SCHOOL for the little jet boat. Pure stupidity!

Same thing with me. I originally took the test for AB OSV. On one of my renewals they gave me the AB unlimited. If he has the AB OSV that should work.

When I upgraded to the 500 Ton Masters the AB OSV was changed to an AB unlimited also.