Is there any way to escape mediocrity in the shipping or shipbuilding industry?

Hey everybody,

I’m a Machinist at Newport News Shipbuilding and have been here for 6 months. I was a Damage Controlman in the Navy prior to this and was looking to get back onto ships without being at sea for long periods of time. I have been disappointed to downright terrified at the mediocre standard shipbuilding is held too. Women being hired en masse for jobs they physically can’t do. Overweight individuals being hired for jobs they cant do. Younger folks being hired for jobs they have no intention of learning or doing for any significant amount of time. Accidents routinely being caused by drug use, sometimes on the job. As a Damage Controlman the fire safety standards are abysmal and WILL end up causing a catastrophic casualty that results in death at some point. I recently found out about the Damage Controlman position at MSC in Norfolk and am very interested in it. However from what I’ve seen they have the exact same issues with employees that NNS does. First, does anybody know exactly what life as a DC in the MSC entails, and second is the culture really as bad at MSC as it is basically everywhere else? How do you escape the mediocrity? Thanks everybody and stay safe.

2 Likes

For shipbuilding. Move to South Korea.

For shipping. Just about anywhere outside of the U.S. Flag has legit sailors who know their trade in greater numbers than what is passing as USCG qualified nowadays. There are a dwindling supply of us still hanging on, but I would say we are losing the war.

It is truly depressing to offer your mentorship or just passing on some of the knowledge accrued, as it was afforded to you, only to be met with a blank stare and a shrug of the shoulders.

10 Likes

I agree it is depressing how little people know or want to know about there jobs. And at least where I work, they will all shit on you because you want to learn and are better at the job then they are.