What positions that you can serve as with a 3rd A/E and w/o OICEW

I am editing the title and first posting because I have found out through corrospondance with the USCG a lot of information for anyone in the same situation. Please read but verify with the USCG iasknmc@uscg.mil as to your particular situation. I hope this helps someone or at least gives them a better understanding than I had a few weeks ago.

I currently have my 3A/E Motors Unlimited but without OICEW, while I have ERM I do not have the other 5 classes that are now required. I still want to work as an engineer while I am taking the classes but I can’t find any definitive answer as to what capacities I can serve as. Can I work as a 3rd just not be a watch-stander like a day worker, or DDE etc that I can still serve as in the interim. Any resources will be helpful and thank you ahead of time.

Well the deadly silence is a firm indicator then…

In my opinion only, as long as you are not in charge of a watch you should be qualified for other positions. Examples would be dayworker or watchstanding 3rd under the supervision of another engineer.

1 Like

You can get DDE and sail as Chief on Tugs.

You can sail Great Lakes

You can sail Inland, including harbors

You can sail on most ferries.

You can sail on factory trawlers.

Many tug companies are looking for licensed engineers. At many companies, sailing chief on a tug pays better than sailing 3AE on a union ship.

You have opportunities

2 Likes

Oiler.

Without knowing what you’re making now I’m going to guess that you might be better off financially staying as ETO on the drill ship, though I guess if you get on a tug you can be getting days towards your upgrade.

Better to rule in hell than serve in heaven.

2 Likes