USCG License UK MCA Master Unlimited

Hi first time posting. I am now a US citizen and living in San Diego, I hold a UK MCA Master Mariners Unlimited Tonnage COC. I am keen to obtain a USCG License that would allow me to Captain on the likes of Hornblower cruises etc.

I have not been able to get a definitive answer from the USCG on what License I can apply for having taken into account my past experience.

I am more than happy to sit any USCG exams needed but I am hoping my UK license would count towards something.

Any help or advice on the matter would be really appreciated

You can use your sea time on foreign vessels the same as service on a US vessel while holding a US license, see 46 CFR 10.232(f). Without knowing the tonnage and capacities of your service, I would suggest applying for a U.S. “national endorsement” as Master Unlimited Tonnage, and documenting the service required in 46 CFR 11.404 (one year as Chief Mate, all over 100 GRT and at least half over 1,600 GRT).

Any license over 200 GRT requires fire fighting training. If you do not want to get that, consider applying for Master Less Than 200 GRT. This should be sufficient to work on “T” and “K” boats (small passenger vessels).

STCW will be more difficult. The United States does not “endorse” or recognize certificates from other countries. But, to work on a small passenger vessels that only engages on near-coastal domestic voyages, you won’t need STCW, see 46 CFR 15.1101(a)(2).

1 Like

Most of those kind of vessels only require a 100 grt master. I know hornblower has some bigger tonnage vessels but I’m not sure if any of their san diego fleet is.

However, you should get the biggest ticket you can qualify for regardless of your immediate goals.

Many with similair questions to yours have posted here, and the best response is to get a licensing consultant. There is one in san diego…I have some friends who have used her and hear she is money well spent.

http://www.jewelmaritime.com

2 Likes